Author Topic: TS500 EQ shape

April 14, 2021, 06:26:49 PM
Read 2687 times

fach jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hello everyone :)

I recently buying 2 x TS500 for working on stereo mix. I know it would be impossible to have a perfect EQ shape between the two, but i think there is a problem on one of them. Especially the high end (start at 1k)
I can post my mesure. I run a sweep at -16dbfs with REQ. My converters are Lynx AUrora 16.

Setup for TS500 was :

15''
Tape sat : middle
BIas/EQ : Flat

Max Input level : Last yellow LED on


Do you have an idea what's going on? I can't use them in stereo... So sad... i love them so much.

Thank you so much for your help.
Best regards
Jeremy
« Last Edit: April 14, 2021, 06:37:35 PM by fach jeremy »

April 15, 2021, 06:45:07 PM
Reply #1

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +31/-0
    • View Profile
If you could compare the 2 signals on TP1, TP2, TP3, TP4, TP5, TP6 it would give us a clue about the stage where the issue starts.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2021, 06:49:38 PM by JPK »
JPK

April 15, 2021, 09:15:46 PM
Reply #2

fach jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
:) thanks you JPK.

Do you think the ''testing Procedure''  that you made for check the unit  is enough ? Or i need to find an oscilloscope ? 

Best regards

April 16, 2021, 08:57:16 AM
Reply #3

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +31/-0
    • View Profile
The difference is big in the high frequencies so you could try with a 5kHz sine at the input and check the level at the different TP's with a DMM.
JPK

April 16, 2021, 02:23:36 PM
Reply #4

fach jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Thanks you very much JPK.

Here is my results :  

April 16, 2021, 02:24:10 PM
Reply #5

fach jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Ouch... sorry for the size

April 17, 2021, 09:16:15 AM
Reply #6

fach jeremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Maybe it's interesting, i mesured the units in byPass and look what's going on.
Green = UNIT 1 RED = UNIT 2

April 17, 2021, 09:34:18 AM
Reply #7

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Karma: +31/-0
    • View Profile
Yes good finding.
Check the values of C1 (470pF marked 471), C2 (470pF), C54 (47pF marked 470), C64 (47 pF), C65 (47pF).
JPK