Author Topic: CP4500 went dark during setup part 6

February 08, 2021, 07:22:18 pm
Reply #25

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile

Quote
What if i remove the resistor, and try to insert a new (temporary) LED again
Any LED will do, the specs are very tolerant.

You got 2 LEDs burning in a row, this shows another issue.

JPK

February 08, 2021, 08:54:56 pm
Reply #26

Dolbah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Quote
What if i remove the resistor, and try to insert a new (temporary) LED again
Any LED will do, the specs are very tolerant.

You got 2 LEDs burning in a row, this shows another issue.

Ok, so where do we go from here?

February 08, 2021, 10:30:54 pm
Reply #27

Dolbah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Ok, good news!

I decided to remove the Resistor, and added a Amber LED i had.

meter dB = 0
I measure 2 VDC between the LED pins

Gonna leave it on for a while and see if it burns.

I have NO idea why it works now, i really do hope that this was not the works of 2 faulty LEDs in a row.


So, what i need:

The IN switch is no good, it has been slow since the beginning (see earlier post) And it is slow again now. And does not always pop all the way back out.

Also, I need new LED.

Can you provide this?  I am thinking about ordering more LEDs anyway, so i can buy a new one myself, if you can provde a new switch.

Is this the correct size? https://www.switchelectronics.co.uk/blue-2mm-lighthouse-diffused-led


February 09, 2021, 08:01:59 am
Reply #28

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
I will send you a switch and a LED today. Please confirm you address by email.
JPK

February 09, 2021, 08:31:13 am
Reply #29

Dolbah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Sent! :) Thank you.

I was speculating into what could have solved the issue.  I have read about peaople using Resistors to discharge other components.
Could it be that the temporary insert of 1K5 did something like this, and thus fixed the issue? Sounds far fetched, but this is the only X-factor so far.

I calibrated PCBa successfully last night,  i am going to re-solder R72 now and calibrate PCBb and give the unit a go :)

February 09, 2021, 08:37:27 am
Reply #30

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile

Quote
Could it be that the temporary insert of 1K5 did something like this
No way.

I still believe you have had an intermittent short circuit somewhere.
And it could come back. :-\
JPK

February 09, 2021, 08:51:04 am
Reply #31

Dolbah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Quote
Could it be that the temporary insert of 1K5 did something like this
No way.

I still believe you have had an intermittent short circuit somewhere.
And it could come back. :-\
ok, i'll just have to keep myn eyes open.

the 1K5 resistor did not survive. Lost a leg. Could you send me an extra of that one too?
BRN-GRN-BLK-BRN-BRN

February 09, 2021, 09:05:47 am
Reply #32

JPK

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile

February 09, 2021, 10:27:31 am
Reply #33

Dolbah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile