Author Topic: CP554, I need some guidance

October 16, 2022, 08:44:08 PM
Read 831 times

AcdNrg

• View Profile
Hi to all!

So I´ve built my CP4500 a few weeks ago, was happy with the build process and am even happier with the results. Now there´s an appetite for more, hence this thread. My background is more in synths and modular, I´m not very experienced in the mixing and outboard processing world. That´s why choosing compressors is not the easiest for me and I´d like to ask the swarm intelligence a few things about the CP554. Apologies for referring to a second vendor, I´m trying to get the differences between the diode bridge compressors I find. 

0. What else is in my rack and what do I use that for?
dbx 560A
elysia mpressor 500
elysia xpressor 19"
100% electronic music, no mics, no vocals, no acoustic guitars. 80% material of the unts unts unts variety, techno, acid, sometimes house and the rest is soundscapes and ambient. Don´t look down on me for that, I played classic piano in my earlier life ;).

1. CP554 is a mono unit, so I´d need two for any bus application. That´s totally fine with me, as the ability to use it on two separate mono signals, probably earlier in the mixing process, is a welcome option. Money wise, 2x CP554 gets me close to the Heritage Successor, which brings stereo only -> it´s less flexible. However, there are some nice features like SC options and parallel compression. If only it was clear whether I´m looking for a channel or a bus compressor... but I mainly want to learn about bridge diode (BD) characteristics, try them out and apply them where they best fit. Thoughts about that?

2. There are some differences in timing and compression, and this leads to questions:
SS: Attack 0.5/1/2/4/8/16ms -- Release 100/400/800/1500ms/A1/A2 -- Compression 1.5/2/3/4/6/12:1
HA: Attack 0.05/0.2/0.5/2/5/20ms -- Release 25/50/100/400ms/A1/A2 -- Compression 1.5/2/3/4/6:1 + limiter